Inspire change
by creating real
and imminent

How we work

DGMT sees itself as a strategic investor and public innovator, not a
grant-maker. Our ability to effect real and systemic change would be very limited if money were our only resource.

Listen, think and learn together with those of like and unlike mind. Frame the possibilities and inspire leadership that can make possibilities happen. Assist our implementing partners to share their experience as evidence of what is possible.

The Role of DGMT


Bring together unlikely thought partners. Galvanise funding coalitions that enhance prospects of success. Build supportive communities of practice, learning, and sharing. Focus on the power of sharing stories and learning.

Build mechanisms to develop, design, and incubate new initiatives. Strengthen civil society organisations through support mechanisms (and funding) that enhance their impact.

See below



DGMT is a South African foundation built on endowments from Douglas George Murray and his wife, Eleanor. Murray was the son of, and successor to John Murray, the founder of the Cape-based construction company, Murray and Stewart, which was established in 1902. This company merged in 1967 with Roberts Construction to become Murray & Roberts, with the parent Trusts as the main shareholders. In 1979, the Trusts combined to form the DG Murray Trust, which over the years has diversified its investments. It currently distributes about
R150-million per year.

Douglas George Murray

Douglas George Murray

Eleanor Murray

Eleanor Murray

See below


Our Board


John Volmink (Chairperson) has a PhD in Mathematics Education and has held various teaching and management positions at southern African and international universities. He is an education expert, having served as the Chairperson of the Umalusi Council for six years. He chairs or sits on the board of various local and international public benefit organisations involved in education, health, and community upliftment.


Ameen Amod is a governance expert with a B-Comm degree and a financially-oriented MBA. He is also a Chartered Director. He is a member of the Institute of Internal Auditors as well as a member of the Institute of Directors. He is currently the chairperson of the Department of Energy Audit Committee, the Department of Defence Audit Committee, and the railway safety Regulator Audit and Risk Committee. He is also a member of the Audit Committee for National Treasury and the Accounting Standards Board.


Shirley Mabusela has a BA Social Work degree and a Higher Diploma in Advanced Social Work Practice. She served as Deputy Director at the Johannesburg Child Welfare Society, as CEO at the Children’s Foundation and as National CEO at the National Children’s Rights Committee. She is a specialist in the area of children’s rights and has served as deputy chairperson and Chairperson of the South African Human Rights Commission (SAHRC). She is currently a Council member at the University of Venda, a Trustee of the Old Mutual SuperFund.


Murphy Morobe has a long career spanning the worlds of student activism, trade unionism, work in the non-governmental sector, politics, the public sector, conservation and the corporate sector. He has served on several boards during his career, including the Council for Higher Education, SA National Parks Board and Ernst & Young (SA). Until recently, Murphy was the CEO of Kagiso Media Ltd., a position he held for seven years. He is the current Executive Chairman of the programme to Improve Learning Outcomes (PILO), which addresses the systemic problem of curriculum coverage in various schools.


Hugo Nelson is a Chartered Financial Analyst and Medical Doctor with an MBA from Oxford University. He joined the Coronation group as an Equity Analyst in 1999 and went onto becoming CEO and Executive Director in a number of its companies. He is currently an independent non-executive director for Coronation Fund Managers. In addition, he is a founding partner of Fortitudine Vincimus Capital Advisors (Pty)Ltd and a patron of the George Whitfield College.

Maria Mabetoa

Maria Mabetoa has a PhD in Social Science. She has spent most of her career working for the Department of Social Development as a Director, Chief Director and later Deputy Director General. During this period, she was responsible for the development and management of major policies, legislation, and programmes for welfare services. While in the Department of Social Development she chaired several national intersectoral forums and committees related to social welfare services. She is currently the President of the South African Council for the Social Service Professions.


Mvuyo Tom holds a MB ChB degree, a Master of Family Medicine, and a Master of Science in Public Policy and management. In 2016, Mvuyo retired as the Vice-Chancellor of the University of Fort Hare (UFH). He currently serves in the Albertina Sisulu Executive Leadership Programme in Health at the Faculty of Health Sciences at UFH. He is the deputy Chairperson of the board of Tekano: Health Equity in South Africa, and Chairperson of Masibumbane Development Organisation. He is the chairperson of the HSRC Board.


Diane Radley is a CA (SA) with an MBA from Wits Business School and an AMP from Harvard. She was a Partner at PricewaterhouseCoopers where she led the Transaction Services Group advising on local and international listings and corporate transactions. In 2001 she joined Allied Electronics Corporation Ltd. as their Chief Financial Officer and served as a non-executive director at Altech, BTG, Omnia, and WIPhold. In 2010, after a three-year term as Old Mutual South Africa’s Group Finance Director, she took over the reins at Old Mutual Investment Group as CEO until the end of 2016.

Michael Kahn

Michael Kahn is a policy analyst and evaluator of research and innovation. He has maintained a lifelong commitment to development – of people, systems and self. To meet these goals, he has served as advisor to the Ministers of Education, and Science and Technology; was Chief Director (Informatics) in the Gauteng Government; Acting Director of the Centre for Education Policy Development; Professor of Science Education in Botswana and South Africa; and an Executive Director of the Human Sciences Research Council. He is an Extraordinary Professor in the Centre for Research on Evaluation, Science and Technology at Stellenbosch University, and a member of its DST-NRF Centre of Excellence in Scientometrics and Science Policy, and an Extraordinary Professor of the University of the Western Cape.

See below


Our Staff and Structure

DGMT Organogram

Our Reports

  • 2018 Annual Report

    Download our DGMT-2018-ANNUAL-REPORT

  • 2017 Annual Report

    Download our DGMT-2017-ANNUAL-REPORT

  • 2016 Annual Report

    Download our DGMT-2016-ANNUAL-REPORT

  • 2011-2015 Five-Year Review

    Download our 2011-2015 Five Year Review

  • 2014 Annual Report

    Download our 2014 Annual Report

  • 2013 Annual Report

    Download our 2013 Annual Report

  • 2012 Annual Report

    Download our 2012 Annual Report

  • 2011 Annual Report

    Download our 2011 Annual Report

  • 2014 Partner Survey

    Partner Survey 2014

  • 2012 Partner Survey

    Partner survey 2012